Coming Up

Sunday, July 5
Museum Open

Saturday~Sunday, July 11~12
Railroading With Lego

Sunday, July 19
N-Trak Model Train Display

Sunday, July 26
Book Sale

Sunday, August 2
Hands On Day

Sunday, August 9
T-Trak Model Train Display

Sunday, August 16
N-Trak Model Train Display

Sunday, August 23
Red Cross Blood Drive;
Summer Activities Day

Sunday, August 30
First Responders Day

See Event Calendar for details

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

B&N Book Fair for Ffx Station

The Barnes and Noble book store at 12193 Fair Lakes Promenade Drive will sponsor a book fair in support of the Fairfax Station Railroad Museum on Saturday, July 25, 2015. ... more ...

A Great Place to Experience History

Take a step back in time and discover the Fairfax Station Museum and the role it played in the history of Northern Virginia.

A key element in the development of the regional economy from its completion on the Orange & Alexandria Railroad in 1854, it played a critical role in the American Civil War and was the center of local community life for almost a century until modern highways and rail transportation made local train depots a thing of the past.  The Station was an important supply and medical evacuation site during the Civil War where Clara Barton, later the founder of the American Red Cross, assisted in relief and evacuation efforts in 1862 during the Second Battle of Bull Run.

Museum displays, activities and events help preserve local history and promote railroading.  Come explore Civil War history, railroading and the fascinating story of our local community.

A Look Back

Restoring Fairfax Station was a twelve year struggle. Local business and community leaders received critical funding support from the county government to enable construction of the museum. This Fairfax Connection article from 1987 details the last stages of construction.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Come and Enjoy History with Us